Short Mission Logs

In the previous entry, I talked about all the choices we now have when it comes to different ways of communicating.

There is one point that I haven’t mentioned yet but one that my mom and I was able to talk about a few days ago when she was asking me how to start her own blog. But before I talk about that point, allow me to let you in on what we talked about.

Our discussion revolved mainly around blogs, what it is, how to start one, and where to read interesting ones. We got to the topic of making your blogs interesting. I remembered talking to her about how in the past, people tended to write very long blog entries. I myself wrote very long ones when I started. And I talked to her about how now, writing very long blogs is no longer advisable if she wants people (especially those of the younger demographic) to read and follow her posts. She asked why, and I answered her with that point I was talking about earlier.

I told her about how  TV has trained us to have selective attention given the ability we have of simply switching from one channel to another. In the same way, all these choices we have now in communicating over the internet are slowly developing in us “selective attention” to any content online. If we don’t like what we see, we go to another site. If we feel that the website is sloppy, we search for the same content in another website. And with the advent of micro-blogging sites such as Twitter and Plurk, and “The rise of the Friendster status”, this generation is now being “trained” to” say much in as little as possible.”

Today, it is no longer unusual to have a blog post where a picture is attached and a YouTube video is embedded. In this age of communication, your chances of survival lie in the way you produce online content that’s either short, interesting, or better yet, both. About 5 years ago, friends of mine would write about all their angst in the world in a 20-paragaraph blog entry. Today, they’ve learned to condense all that emotion in a 140-character Tweet.

Honestly, as of yet, I have no means of judging whether such a thing is doing this generation good or not. On one side, I think about how “efficient” we’ve become in using words to express ourselves, and yet on another side, it also think about how that takes away from us the appreciation for what might be considered “lenghty” works of art.

Either way, such a phenomenon still allows for some learning and adapting on our side. But for now, let me go back, as I always do, to what our role is given this present situation. I believe that in this age where most information can now be accessed online, our responsibility is to be able to discern first what is of good content, and second, what content was presented in the most interesting way possible. For our ability to do so may very well determine how we also post content of our own.

    • Karen
    • July 10th, 2010

    “On one side, I think about how “efficient” we’ve become in using words to express ourselves, and yet on another side, it also think about how that takes away from us the appreciation for what might be considered “lenghty” works of art.”

    I couldn’t have said it any better. The fact that I choose to read the news via Twitter because of its 140-character limit over those bulky newspapers proves the fact that we don’t want those lengthy reading materials anymore. And although it’s convenient for us (or for me, in this matter) to read concise news reports, I think this is also a disadvantage for our generation because it is through reading those long works that we could improve our vocabulary, for instance. This may be the reason why we’re not as good as the previous generations in terms of language use.

    • barrycade
    • July 14th, 2010

    while i believe that the Net Gen has shorter attention spans, i still believe they will give time to a lengthy read when it is really good.

    i sometimes find myself having short attention span, but when i get hold of a good journal or book and really like the content and the writing style, i stick to it; i invest my time in it.

    and oh, how nice that your mom is into blogging, and what better way to apply your social media learning than to teach your mom the ways and the dangers yourself. :)

    reporting from field,
    agent barry

  1. Again, new technology has it’s ups and downs.

    If there’s one thing technology has taught us is that there is always an easier way. Easier, more convenient, shorter. And it is this mindset which I believe has taught us to find “easier” ways for practically everything. Sure some may see it as always taking the easy way out. But if you look at it from a certain perspective, you can see that finding the “easy” way, isn’t so easy at all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

