The Bro Code

So we talked about How I Met Your Mother in one post. After rereading that, I felt it necessary to write about one other thing related to, and actually very important in the TV series–Barney’s blog. Much about the philosophy of Barney can be found in his blog. In fact, he makes references to it from one episode to another. But what’s even more interesting than his philosophy he says he writes about in his blog, is the fact that his blog is actually real.

Ok, so forgive me for just finding that out now. Before, I’d think his blog was just one other item in the show. But the imagine how I responded when I found out that there really was a www.barneysblog.com.

Now I think such a thing was just genius. Now provided perhaps it really isn’t Neil Patrick Harris (the actor who plays Barney) who writes the blog, it still makes me think about how “real” the character of Barney is. Imagine, right now I get to actually know what’s in his blog. I’M TALKING TO BARNEY STINSON AND I’M ACTUALLY READING EXCERPTS FROM THE BRO CODE!

Another show that employ this kind of strategy is iCarly on Nickelodeon. The show is basically about three teens who make a weekly webcast on their site www.iCarly.com. At the end of every episode, viewers are encouraged to get on their computer and actually visit the site AND upload their own content. Now that’s innovative.

What separates shows such as iCarly and How I Met Your Mother from other shows is that the website is actually a part of the story–a part of the show. Whereas for other shows you just find websites about the show. What I’m sure about is that for a show such as How I Met Your Mother, a real blog  that fans can really read and comment on must have a huge impact on the show’s following. The same is true for iCarly. What amazes me is how even TV shows now don’t just talk about the Internet, but that TV shows are actually able to make use of the Internet to their advantage. And again, it all boils down to providing your audience an experience they wouldn’t have had otherwise without the Internet. It’s all about a richer experience, and one that makes the show real for fans.

How can organizations learn from this? Well, organizations must find a way to make themselves real to their publics. The Internet can provide that opportunity. But we’re not just talking about setting up your website. What we’re talking about is an experience that organizations can and must provide in order to make themselves relevant to their public.

  1. Yo bro!
    I have read all the contents of Barney’s Blog before. And it is legen-wait for it-dary! I enjoy the blog because it’s an extension of the fictional world of How I Met Your Mother. I have also read the two books purportedly written by Barney; The Bro Code and Bro On The Go. My only qualms about the blog is that it isn’t updated that often and that it isn’t updated during months that HIMYM is not on-air.
    And I do believe that every bro should follow the Bro Code. It’s just common sense to do so. Those who violate the Bro Code are evil and shall be punished with a life of eternal unawesomeness.
    ‘Til next time, bro. Don’t dare to rack jack me. ;)

  2. Yo bro!
    I have read all the contents of Barney’s Blog before. And it is legen-wait for it-dary! I enjoy the blog because it’s an extension of the fictional world of How I Met Your Mother. I have also read the two books purportedly written by Barney; The Bro Code and Bro On The Go. My only qualms about the blog is that it isn’t updated that often and that it isn’t updated during months that HIMYM is not on-air.
    And I do believe that every bro should follow the Bro Code. It’s just common sense to do so. Those who violate the Bro Code are evil and shall be punished with a life of eternal unawesomeness.
    ‘Til next time, bro. Don’t dare rack jack me. ;)

  3. Justine, I’ve always thought you were a chic. And not the hot kind.Hahaha.

    The best thing I like about the blog is that it’s as if Barney is actually the one doing the writing. It adds to the overall experience of watching the show and reading the Bro Code.

    It’s this type of immersion that gets me hooked on the show. And I hope more of my favorite shows come up with ways to get me into the experience. To have House personally diagnose my sickness, that would really be something

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

